UK care policy libraries compared

Last checked 25 October 2026. Based on public web pages. Corrections are welcome and are dated on this page.

‍

In brief

As at 25 October 2026, this page identifies 20 UK providers of policies and procedures for health and social care: 12 subscription platforms and 8 sellers of packs, templates or free resources.

They differ on library size, regulator coverage, how policies are kept up to date, staff tracking, AI features and price. Public prices run from free templates to £1,434 for a one-off pack, and from £49 to £349 a month for subscriptions.

The CQC's registration guidance says every policy document must be “unique and tailored to your business”. OpenDoc records every edit a service makes to a library policy, with a full version history that can be compared side by side.

The longest-established providers date from 2002 (The Policy Library) and 2009 (QCS) and were built around document libraries. Some have since added AI assistants. OpenDoc was built from 2025 with AI at its core.

OpenDoc is one of the 20. Its distinguishing features are that every policy is written by named experts and signed off by at least three of them, that staff can ask questions by voice in 51 languages, and that it has a free plan with access to the library, and an Organisation plan at £70 + VAT a month per service with unlimited users. Larger platforms such as QCS are ahead on scale and four-nation coverage.

OpenDoc is also the knowledge layer of Health Connect's care super intelligence architecture: AI that reads a care record with expert knowledge beside it, and leaves the decisions to people. OpenDoc can be used on its own, without Health Connect's care platform.

Interest declared. Health Connect Global Ltd publishes this page and makes OpenDoc, so read it as a comparison by one of the providers. Every figure links to a public page, and where pages disagree both figures are shown.

What does the CQC say about tailored policies?

The CQC's guidance for new provider registrations is direct. It says every document must be “unique and tailored to your business” and relevant to the service types and user bands chosen in the application. It says it will reject an application if the documents are not relevant to the service or its regulated activities.

On templates, the CQC says that if a provider uses a third-party template, it must suit the service type, and that a template for residential care will not work for home care applicants. It also says every document must show the business name, the person responsible for the policy, the date it was created and the date it will be reviewed.

Scope: this is the CQC's guidance for new registrations. Many consultancies say inspectors look for the same thing in registered services, but those are secondary sources.

How does OpenDoc show what is tailored?

Each OpenDoc policy starts from an expert-written library original that shows who wrote it. When a service copies a policy, OpenDoc fills in the organisation’s name, key contacts and preferred terms, such as “resident” or “support worker”. The service can then edit it. Every edit is recorded, and the full version history can be compared side by side, so a service can show what it changed and when.

When the library changes, the service sees the new original beside its own version and chooses to accept the update or keep its own, so local tailoring is not overwritten.

How do other providers handle tailoring?

Tailoring is widely offered. What differs is how easily a service can show what it changed. Of the providers below, OpenDoc and Care Daily both advertise version comparison. The pages checked for the others did not mention it.

How each provider describes tailoring policies to a service, checked 25 October 2026
ProviderHow tailoring worksCan a service show what it has tailored?
OpenDocCopied policies fill in the organisation’s name, contacts and terms. The service edits from there, and accepts or declines updates when the library original improvesEvery edit is recorded, with full version history and side-by-side comparison
QCSDescribes its policies as tailored to each organisation, and Lyra also answers from a provider's customised policiesNot found
Care DailyAn online editor, logo customisation, and Word and PDF exportVersion comparison and rollback within a document's history. A report against the original was not found
The Policy LibraryEditable Word documents, with an option to add the provider's logoNot found
W&P TrainingManager's notes explain how to personalise and adapt each policyNot found
PolicyProGenerates policies tailored to the service, and reviews uploaded policies against the CQC frameworkNot found
CompliantCareDrafts policies from the service's own obligations, and imports an existing library to map gapsNot found

What are the key facts about OpenDoc?

Part of
Health Connect. OpenDoc is the knowledge layer of Health Connect's care super intelligence architecture, which Health Connect defines as AI that works as scaffolding for the expertise of the people who deliver care, with people making the decisions. OpenDoc can be used on its own.
Price
A free plan with access to the policy library. An Organisation plan at £70 + VAT a month per service (£84 including VAT), with unlimited users, unlimited AI use and no long-term contract. The Organisation plan has a free trial.
Library size
500+ policies and procedures as at , with new ones added every week.
Who writes the policies
Named care experts. At least three experts sign off each policy before it goes live. Every policy shows who wrote it, and each expert has a profile listing their qualifications and experience.
AI answers
Staff ask questions in plain English and get answers from their service's own policies. By voice, staff can ask out loud and hear the answer in 51 languages, as at October 2026. Voice launched in August 2026 with 40 languages.
Keeping policies current
When a library policy a service uses is improved, the service chooses whether to accept the new version or keep its own. Every policy has an owner and a review date, with weekly reminders of anything overdue.
Showing what is tailored
Every edit is recorded. A service can compare any two versions of a policy side by side.
Available today
FeatureWhat it gives you
Free policy libraryStart with a library of ready-written care policies at no cost. Copy any of them into your own library in one click.
Simple pricingA free plan, plus an Organisation plan at £70 + VAT a month (£84) with unlimited AI use, team members and documents. There's a free trial, and you can cancel it from inside the app.
Guided starter set-upNew organisations get a starter set of policies chosen for their region and care setting. Each one opens as a draft with its owner and review date already set, ready to adopt.
Policies written in your organisation's nameCopied policies fill in your organisation's name, key contacts and your own terms ("resident", "support worker"). Switch to "View as my organisation" to see the finished version.
Professional, branded documentsEvery policy has a cover page, a clickable contents list and an "Uncontrolled when printed" footer. Downloaded PDFs can carry your branding.
Key contacts in every policyContacts named in a policy are clickable and open their details. If a contact changes, you're shown which documents are now out of date and can update them in one go.
Upload your existing policiesUpload single documents or a batch, as PDFs or photos. Scanned documents are converted to text automatically. Your progress saves as you go.
AI standardisationOne click rewrites an existing policy or procedure into a consistent, professional template. It also checks for required headings and correct terminology.
Automatic review dates and ownersOpenDoc finds the review date and policy owner in documents you upload, so you don't have to type them in.
Duplicate warningsYou're warned before you add a policy that's very similar to one you already have.
Edit in the appMake changes directly, or suggest changes for someone else to approve. Every edit is recorded.
Version controlFull version history and a side-by-side comparison of versions. When a library policy you use is improved, you can accept or decline the new version.
Policy review cycleEvery policy has an owner and a next-review date, with clear up-to-date or overdue status. Review outcomes are emailed and every review is recorded.
Weekly remindersMonday emails flag overdue reviews and summarise library activity, so nothing slips.
Expert-reviewed contentQualified care experts review documents and approve or reject them before they're published to the public library.
Credit for contributorsCopied documents show who originally wrote them. Experts have profiles listing their qualifications, experience and contribution statistics.
Find an expertAn expert and consultant directory you can filter by policy area.
Policy AssistantAsk questions in plain English and get answers from your own policies. It suggests questions to ask, keeps your past chats, and can request a missing policy or contact support for you.
Voice AssistantAsk about policies hands-free, by voice.
Suggest a documentAsk for a policy the library doesn't have yet, and get an email when it's published.
Library filters and engagementFilter by document type or tag, and search. Comment on documents and vote them up or down.
Multi-site supportManage facilities, units and wards, and choose which sites each document applies to.
Team managementInvite colleagues, set what they can do, and update names. You can also turn a personal account into an organisation account.
Audit trailA dated record of membership changes, acceptance of terms and consent, ready for inspection.
Simple, secure sign-inNo passwords: sign in with a code or a link sent by email. Links in emails take you straight to the right page.

How do the main subscription platforms compare?

Twelve providers sell ongoing access to policies, or to tools built around them. The second column states each provider's technology and age, where public. Each cell stands on its own, and “none found” means no such feature appeared on the pages checked.

Subscription platforms for UK care policies, checked 25 October 2026
ProviderTechnology and agePolicies in the libraryPublic priceStaff trackingWho writes the policies
OpenDocAI-native, built from 2025. Staff ask questions in plain English, or by voice in 51 languages, and get answers from their service's own policies. AI standardisation rewrites existing policies into a consistent template. Business Insider Africa described it as an AI-native platform on 4 March 2026. It is the knowledge layer of Health Connect's care super intelligence architecture500+ as at 28 October 2026Free plan. Organisation plan £70 + VAT a month per service, unlimited usersPolicy owners, review dates, overdue status, weekly reminders and an audit trailNamed experts, with at least three signing off each policy
QCS (an RLDatix company)Founded 2009 as a content-driven software-as-a-service library, and owned by RLDatix since May 2022. The Lyra AI assistant was added to the platform, and Lyra Multi, which searches the whole library, launched in April 2026340+ policies and about 1,800 pages of guidanceOn requestAcknowledgement trackingAn in-house team of regulatory and best-practice experts. Names not published
Bettal Cared4A browser-based quality management system from a consultancy that cites more than 25 years of experience. No AI found300+ policies£75 plus VAT a month on one page, £150 plus VAT on anotherNone foundDeveloped and led by two named directors
e-Care HubAn online subscription library. Founding year not found. No AI found230 to 350+, depending on the pageFrom £89 a month for care homes in EnglandRead allocation to staffNot stated
Care DailyA care management platform with a built-in library, run by NXT Digital Ltd. Founding year not found. No AI found on the pages checked500+ on its pricing page. Other pages say 1,040+ and 2,000+PolicyFlex from £139 a month. Plans with care management £179 and £349 a monthAcknowledgement tracking, version comparison and rollbackDescribed as professionally written. Authors not named
HeroDocsPolicy software with AI policy drafting. Founding year not found150+ templatesFrom £54 a month: £50 per admin plus £4 per staff memberSign-off trackingExpert templates. Authors not named
CompliantCare (Safe Workplace)A compliance suite that drafts policies from the regulations that apply to the service. Founding year not foundDrafted from the service's own obligationsFrom £119 per location a month on an older pageAcknowledgement per personNot stated
MyCarePolicy (MyCareAudit)A policy pack library beside an audit platform that describes itself as AI-powered, with AI gap detection. Founding year not found300+ templatesNot checkedNot checkedNot stated
InspectReadyA web tool for care homes with starter policies mapped to CQC quality statements. No AI foundStarter templatesFrom £49 a month per homeEvidence pack exportSays its templates are a starting point to adapt
AlwaysReady CareAn evidence layer over the system a service already uses. AI suggestions only count as evidence once a person signs offNot a policy libraryFree tier. About £49 to £79 per home per month, from a third-party reviewEvidence captureNot applicable
Access Policies and ProceduresPart of The Access Group's care software range, with a mobile app. Described as AI enabled. Details not seen130+ policiesNot published. Price matching offeredAutomated compliance trackingDescribed as created by sector experts. Names not published
Radar HealthcareA governance, risk and compliance platform with document management, holding ISO 9001 and ISO 27001. No AI foundPolicies held as documents inside the platformNot publishedStaff read confirmation and audit trailsNot applicable
OVinsights (OVcare)An AI assistant over a provider's own uploaded policies, on WhatsApp and inside OVcare, by text or voice in 23 languages, with a link to the source documentThe provider's own policiesIncluded with OVcare, or sold separately. Not checkedNot checkedNot applicable

What do packs, templates and free resources cost?

Packs, templates and free sources for UK care policies, checked 25 October 2026
SourceTechnology and formatWhat it offersPublic priceHow updates work
The Policy LibraryEditable Word documents, sold since 2002. No software platformPacks for care homes, home care and supported living£834 for policies only, £1,434 for the full package. Renewals £300 and £480Free updates in the first year. Members are emailed about changes
W&P TrainingDownloadable policy packsPolicies for care homesNot checkedReviewed every four months. Free updates in the first year
Social Care ProDownloadable editable documentsSingle documents for home careFor example £13.99 and £16.99 a documentNot stated
PolicyProA generator that produces editable Word policies, with AI generation. A new product200+ templates across the four UK nations£0 in early access on one page. From £2 a policy in bulk on anotherNot stated
Policy ProsA bespoke writing servicePolicies written for a settingFixed-price quoteNot stated
CitationBespoke documents from a compliance consultancy that cites more than 30 years across sectorsBespoke care policiesOn requestNot stated
Care PolicyFree downloadable templates25 templates in exchange for contact detailsFreeIncludes an update checklist
Digital Care HubFree downloadable resourcesResources funded by the Department of Health and Social Care, including data protection templatesFreeNot stated

Which provider suits which need?

Needs and the providers that match them, as at 25 October 2026
If you needProviders to consider
Mock inspections and audits alongside policiesQCS, Access Care Compliance, MyCareAudit
Free policies to start withOpenDoc (free plan with access to the library), Care Policy (25 free templates), Digital Care Hub (free resources)
A document written for you when an inspector asks for itBettal promises to write any document a CQC inspector asks for, free of charge. OpenDoc lets a service request a policy the library doesn't have yet and emails when it is published
A recorded history of every change to your policiesOpenDoc, Care Daily
Policies ready to share with an inspectorOVcare has an inspector portal for Ofsted-regulated children's homes. InspectReady exports an evidence pack organised by CQC quality statement. OpenDoc downloads any policy as a branded PDF with a cover page and contents list
Cover for all four UK regulators at scaleQCS
Governance, risk and incident management in one platformRadar Healthcare
The lowest monthly price for a very small serviceInspectReady, HeroDocs, AlwaysReady Care
AI that drafts policiesHeroDocs, PolicyPro, CompliantCare
WhatsApp access to your own policiesOVinsights
Policies written by named experts with three sign-offs, and voice questions in 51 languagesOpenDoc

How is OpenDoc different?

How should a care provider choose?

  1. Ask who writes the policies, whether you can see their names, and how many people review each one.
  2. Ask how updates reach you and whether you can keep your own version.
  3. Ask how staff find answers at the point of care, and in which languages.
  4. Work out the cost for your own number of staff and services, because some prices are per user, per home or per admin.

Frequently asked questions

How many UK providers sell policies and procedures for health and social care?

As at 25 October 2026 this page identifies 20: 12 subscription platforms and 8 sellers of packs, templates or free resources.

How much does a UK care policy library cost?

Public prices range from free templates to one-off packs of £834 to £1,434, and from £49 to £349 a month for subscriptions. OpenDoc has a free plan with access to its library, and an Organisation plan at £70 + VAT a month per service with unlimited users.

Is OpenDoc free?

OpenDoc has a free plan that gives access to the policy library. The Organisation plan adds editing, AI use and team features for £70 + VAT a month per service (£84 including VAT), with unlimited users, no long-term contract and a free trial.

Which providers let staff ask questions about policies by voice?

OpenDoc answers voice questions in 51 languages, as at October 2026, from a service's own policies. OVinsights answers by voice and text on WhatsApp in 23 languages from a provider's own uploaded policies.

What does AI-native mean for a policy library?

It means AI is part of how the product works from the start, and not a search or chat feature added to an existing library. In OpenDoc, AI answers staff questions from the service's own policies, by text or by voice, and rewrites uploaded policies into a consistent template, while named experts review what goes into the library.

Which providers have been established longest?

The Policy Library has sold Word policy packs since 2002, and QCS was founded in 2009. Bettal and Citation each cite more than 25 to 30 years of experience. OpenDoc was built from 2025.

How does OpenDoc fit with the rest of Health Connect?

OpenDoc is Health Connect's library of expert-written policies. OpenDoc is also the knowledge layer of Health Connect's care super intelligence architecture: AI that reads a care record with expert knowledge beside it, and leaves the decisions to people. OpenDoc can be used on its own, without Health Connect's care platform.

Who writes OpenDoc's policies?

Named care experts write and review them, and at least three experts sign off each policy before it goes live. Every policy shows who wrote it.

Does the CQC approve policy libraries?

No. The CQC assesses services against its framework and does not approve or endorse policy libraries.

What happens if a regulator asks for a policy I do not have?

Bettal promises to write any document a CQC inspector asks for, free of charge. In OpenDoc, a service can request a policy the library doesn't have yet and gets an email when it is published.

Do care policies have to be tailored to the service?

For new registrations, the CQC says each document must be “unique and tailored to your business” and relevant to the service types selected, and it rejects applications whose documents are not relevant to the service. A third-party template must suit the service type.

Can I share my policies with an inspector?

OpenDoc downloads any policy as a branded PDF with a cover page and contents list. OVcare offers an inspector portal for Ofsted-regulated children's homes, and InspectReady exports an evidence pack organised by CQC quality statement.

Who can carry out a mock inspection for a care service?

QCS, Access Care Compliance and MyCareAudit sell mock inspection tools or services.

How was this checked?

Each figure about another provider comes from that provider's own public page, or from a named third-party review where marked, on 25 October 2026. Where pages disagree, both figures are shown. Prices change, so confirm with the provider. Figures about OpenDoc come from Health Connect. Corrections are recorded below with their date.

Change log: 28 October 2026, first published.

Sources