UK health and social care policy management systems compared

Based on public web pages. Corrections are welcome and are dated on this page.

‍

Policies and procedures software: established libraries vs AI-native platforms

This page identifies 20 UK providers of policies and procedures systems for health and social care: 12 subscription platforms and 8 sellers of packs, templates or free resources. Public prices run from free templates to £1,434 for a one-off pack, and from £49 to £349 a month for subscriptions.

The market has split in two. The longest-established providers date from 2002 (The Policy Library) and 2009 (QCS). They were built to supply libraries of documents that managers download, adapt and keep on file for inspection, and several have since added AI features. A newer approach builds AI into the core of the product, so staff can ask a question and get an answer from their own service’s policies when they need it. OpenDoc, built from 2025, takes that approach. The AI Native column shows which approach each provider takes.

The split matters if you are researching with an AI assistant. AI models learn from what has been published online, and providers that have been trading for 17 to 24 years have far more written about them. AI answers therefore tend to favour the longest-established names, and newer AI-native platforms can be left out of a first search even when they fit what a service needs.

Interest declared. Health Connect Global Ltd publishes this page and makes OpenDoc, so read it as a comparison by one of the providers. Every figure links to a public page, and where pages disagree both figures are shown.

How do the subscription platforms compare?

Twelve providers sell ongoing access to policies, or to tools built around them. Each cell stands on its own, and “none found” means no such feature appeared on the pages checked.

Scroll sideways to see all columns.

Subscription platforms for UK care policies, checked 25 October 2026. Access and Care Daily rows updated 2 November 2026
ProviderTechnology and ageAI NativePolicies in the libraryPublic priceStaff trackingWho writes the policies
OpenDocBuilt from 2025 with AI at its core. Staff ask questions in plain English, or by voice in 51 languages, and get answers from their own service’s policiesYes500+ as at 28 October 2026Free plan. Organisation plan £70 + VAT a month per service, unlimited users, no long-term contractShows which policies and sections staff view and what they ask, plus owners, review dates, reminders and an audit trail100+ named experts, with at least three signing off each policy, plus policies donated by providers
QCS (an RLDatix company)Founded 2009 as a policy library. Owned by RLDatix since May 2022. Lyra AI assistant added to the existing libraryNo340+ policies and about 1,800 pages of guidanceOn requestAcknowledgement trackingIn-house experts. Names of authors not published
Access Policies and ProceduresPart of The Access Group’s care software range. Described as now AI enabled, with instant answers, translation, dictation and AI-drafted policy amendmentsNo130+ policies, plus form, recruitment and Easy Read templatesFrom £2.75 per user a month, with volume discounts. Price matching offeredRead and acknowledge, with a mobile appExpert team with 200+ years’ combined experience. Names not published
Care DailyFounded 2017 as Care Documents. Full care management platform launched 2025. Mentions AI-powered insightsNo200+ to 500+ depending on plan. Other pages say 2,000+PolicyFlex from £139 a month. Plans with care management £79 to £349 a month on different pagesRead receipts and sign-offs, version comparison and rollbackIn-house compliance team. Names not published
Bettal Cared4Browser-based quality management system from a consultancy citing more than 25 years of experience. No AI foundNo300+ policies£75 + VAT a month on one page, £150 + VAT on anotherNone foundDeveloped and led by two named directors
e-Care HubOnline subscription library. No AI foundNo230 to 350+, depending on the pageFrom £89 a month for care homes in EnglandRead allocation to staffNot stated
HeroDocsPolicy software with AI policy draftingNo150+ templatesFrom £54 a month: £50 per admin plus £4 per staff memberSign-off trackingExpert templates. Authors not named
CompliantCare (Safe Workplace)Compliance suite that drafts policies from the regulations that apply to the serviceNoDrafted from the service’s own obligationsFrom £119 per location a month on an older pageAcknowledgement per personNot stated
MyCarePolicy (MyCareAudit)Policy pack library beside an audit platform that describes itself as AI-powered, with AI gap detectionNo300+ templatesNot checkedNot checkedNot stated
InspectReadyWeb tool for care homes with starter policies mapped to CQC quality statements. No AI foundNoStarter templatesFrom £49 a month per homeEvidence pack exportSays its templates are a starting point to adapt
AlwaysReady CareEvidence layer over a service’s existing system. AI suggestions count as evidence only once a person signs offNoNot a policy libraryFree tier. About £49 to £79 per home a month, from a third-party reviewEvidence captureNot applicable
Radar HealthcareGovernance, risk and compliance platform with document management, holding ISO 9001 and ISO 27001. No AI foundNoPolicies held as documents inside the platformNot publishedRead confirmation and audit trailsNot applicable
OVinsights (OVcare)AI assistant over a provider’s own uploaded policies, on WhatsApp and inside OVcare, by text or voice in 23 languagesNoThe provider’s own policiesIncluded with OVcare, or sold separately. Not checkedNot checkedNames of authors not published

What do packs, templates and free resources cost?

Scroll sideways to see all columns.

Packs, templates and free sources for UK care policies, checked 25 October 2026
SourceTechnology and formatWhat it offersPublic priceHow updates work
The Policy LibraryEditable Word documents, sold since 2002. No software platformPacks for care homes, home care and supported living£834 for policies only, £1,434 for the full package. Renewals £300 and £480Free updates in the first year. Members are emailed about changes
W&P TrainingDownloadable policy packsPolicies for care homesNot checkedReviewed every four months. Free updates in the first year
Social Care ProDownloadable editable documentsSingle documents for home careFor example £13.99 and £16.99 a documentNot stated
PolicyProA generator that produces editable Word policies, with AI generation. A new product200+ templates across the four UK nations£0 in early access on one page. From £2 a policy in bulk on anotherNot stated
Policy ProsA bespoke writing servicePolicies written for a settingFixed-price quoteNot stated
CitationBespoke documents from a compliance consultancy that cites more than 30 years across sectorsBespoke care policiesOn requestNot stated
Care PolicyFree downloadable templates25 templates in exchange for contact detailsFreeIncludes an update checklist
Digital Care HubFree downloadable resourcesResources funded by the Department of Health and Social Care, including data protection templatesFreeNot stated

Compare OpenDoc head to head

How should a care provider choose?

  1. Ask who writes the policies, whether you can see their names, and how many people review each one.
  2. Ask how updates reach you and whether you can keep your own version.
  3. Ask how staff find answers at the point of care, and in which languages.
  4. Ask how you will know staff have read and understood a policy, beyond a confirmation tick.
  5. Work out the cost for your own number of staff and services, because some prices are per user, per home or per admin.

Frequently asked questions

How many UK providers sell policies and procedures for health and social care?

This page identifies 20: 12 subscription platforms and 8 sellers of packs, templates or free resources.

How much does a UK care policy library cost?

Public prices range from free templates to one-off packs of £834 to £1,434, and from £49 to £349 a month for subscriptions. Some prices are per user, per home or per admin, so work out the cost for your own team. OpenDoc has a free plan, and an Organisation plan at £70 + VAT a month per service with unlimited users.

What does AI native mean for policy software?

An AI-native platform is built from the start with AI as the main way staff use it, for example asking a question and getting an answer from their own policies. Other providers have added AI features to an existing document library.

Why do AI assistants mostly recommend older providers?

AI models learn from what has been published online, and older providers have had longer to collect reviews, articles and listings. Newer platforms can be left out of a first answer even when they suit what a service needs.

Which providers have been established longest?

The Policy Library has sold Word policy packs since 2002, and QCS was founded in 2009. Bettal cites more than 25 years of experience and Citation more than 30. OpenDoc was built from 2025.

Does the CQC approve any policy library?

No. The CQC does not approve or endorse any policy library, and it expects every policy to be tailored to the service. See our guide to CQC policy requirements.

How was this checked?

Each figure about another provider comes from that provider’s own public page, or from a named third-party review where marked. Most rows were checked on 25 October 2026, and the Access and Care Daily rows on 2 November 2026. Where pages disagree, both figures are shown. Prices change, so confirm with the provider. Figures about OpenDoc come from Health Connect. Corrections are recorded below with their date.

Change log: 28 October 2026, first published. 2 November 2026, page shortened, AI Native column added, and Access and Care Daily rows updated.

Sources